My Passion, My Philanthropy

lauren blog photoLauren Embrey on Giving Bold and ‘Now’
Author: Lauren Embrey (Member, Women Moving Millions)
Originally posted on August 9, 2016 on Women’s E-News

“There is no such thing as a lesser person.” That is the motto of the Embrey Human Rights Program at Southern Methodist University, and something I innately knew from birth.

When I was young, I wanted to drive a moped, but was told I couldn’t “because I was a girl.” I did not understand this. When I was a few years older, I was asked to train for the Olympics in swimming, but my mother’s response was, “Why would you want green hair and big shoulders?” I didn’t understand that either.

Then at the elite girls’ school I attended in Dallas, my hometown, the message changed. I was taught that I could accomplish anything any man could. I was not to consider myself “lesser” in any regard, and definitely not because of my gender.

Read more from Lauren here.

Leave a Reply

